OFW Lessons: Hotelier Vagelyn Federico on professionalism

2 vagelynVagelyn Tumbaga-Federico is Director of Human Resources at Dusit Thani Dubai

“I can say that my heart and attitude makes me unique. Whatever I reached in my career and in my life I remain as humble as I can and the same person from the first time they knew me. My heart is always for the people and I always treasure everyone as part of my success that’s the reason I think God continuously shower His abundant blessings on me.”

“My job requires a high level of professionalism, excellent communication skills and outstanding writing   skills, ability to work under pressure and in a fast-paced environment, strong organization and management skills with the ability to prioritize multiple functions and tasks while managing work time efficiently.”

  • The most important thing in any job and in my job is the commitment, dedication and passion to work and all the rest of technicalities in the job can be learned along the way.
  • Be prepared in all aspects of life, physically, emotionally and psychologically as it really needs a lot of expectations from the management and owner of the company.
  • You have to love what you do and do what you love. Whatever you are doing you have to be passionate on it, nothing is hard to do when you love what you are doing, when you put all your heart, mind and soul on it. As the saying goes “follow your passion and success will follow you.

“Honestly, yes indeed I felt that I’ve arrived. Not even in my dreams before I thought that I will become a General Manager at the age of 28 and also with great pride that I am the only Filipino General Manager from all over the Middle East who became part of the most prestigious event The Great GM Debate 2011 of Hotelier Middle East which I consider as well as my greatest achievement in my life.”

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about lessons learned by Overseas Filipino Workers in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI. If you have someone in mind who you think deserves space in this blog, kindly contact the blogger or write down your comment below.

Back to Home

Leave a Reply

