OFW Lessons: Irene Corpuz on dreaming big

Irene Corpuz is Head of Planning and IT Security Section of Western Regional Municipality, Abu Dhabi.

Irene Washington DC

Irene in Washington, D.C.

“My first work in the UAE is a Business Analyst/Consultant for 1 year then I moved to a government entity as a Corporate Strategy Analyst for 3 years. After 3 years, I lost my job due to emiratization.  Then, I joined my current company as Supervisor for the Consulting Center.  I resigned after 1 year, but after a month, they recalled me for special projects arrangement & as Operations Adviser on part-time basis.  So all together, I’ve been here for 6 years!”

Her lines of advice for her fellow Filipinos and expats:

  • Filipinos are very humble, yet very hard working. Most of the time, we don’t get the treatment that we deserve, not even the right compensation for our contributions to the company.  It is not bad to dream and try to reach for your dream.  But we also have our families to consider.  It is one of my shortcomings.  Missing important events with my family.
  • Don’t stop learning. Read a lot.  Expand your connections even if you think you won’t need them or they won’t need you.
  • Maybe the best valuable lesson that I’ve learned … just let my dreams flow.  Let fate and faith lead me there.

“Age is just about numbers.  I’m young forever.  I am here, not where I wanted to be, but where God wants me to be.   I believe far more than what I dreamed of.”

Irene Conference speaker

Irene as Conference Speaker

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about lessons learned by Overseas Filipino Workers in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI. If you have someone in mind who you think deserves space in this blog, kindly contact the blogger or write down your comment below.

Back to Home

Leave a Reply

