Pinoy Pro: Francis Rey Apo  

OFFICE ADMINISTRATION AND HUMAN RESOURCE

Francis Rey is currently working for Hitachi Consulting located in Dubai Internet City. “We are a global consulting company, with operations in North America, Europe, the Middle East and Asia. Hitachi Consulting is a recognized leader in delivering proven business and IT strategies and solutions to Global 2000 companies across many industries. The company earned Diamond level partner status, the highest ranking available in the Oracle Partner Network (OPN) Specialized program.” 

“My main tasks as an Administration Executive are in line with my duties as PRO and HR – visa processing, flight and hotel bookings for our UAE staff and visitors, company trade license, office license and insurance renewals; Finance duties such as salary processing, bill payments, bank transactions, transaction reporting; Purchasing office supplies; Facilities Management; and Events Coordination.”

4 Leisure time 2013Among the different fields, why did you choose (your profession)? In choosing a job or profession, I look for something that is available and in-demand, something where I’m qualified, something I enjoy, something where I would grow and something where I could earn and provide for the family.

What do you like about what you do? What do you dislike? I love everything I do in my current job. I don’t have any dislikes but I find it challenging dealing with difficult people.

What do you think are the advantages of being an Administration Executive? Being an Administration Executive in our company gives me the opportunity to learn more about office management. The experience and skills that I’m learning may help me in the future if ever I decided to put up my own business. I also get to work directly with a wide range of individuals at all levels – regular staff, management and directors, external clients and suppliers.. so this can make the job varied and interesting.

What are the qualifications or skills needed in a job like this?  What advice would you offer someone considering this career? In an administrative role, leadership, organization, time management and people skills are needed. An administrator must have good communication skills both in oral and in written; must have excellent knowledge of computer applications; must have the ability to multitask and to prioritize tasks; has excellent record keeping and attention to details; and ability to handle pressure. For those who are considering a career in Administration, I advise them to develop their confidence by practicing speaking skills and dressing smart. Practice by being self organized, sorting out every detail of your life. If you enjoy paper works, filing, coordination, placing orders, reporting, sorting out hotel and travel arrangements, then this is will be a career you will enjoy.

1 Washington DC Tour - 2010

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about Filipino professionals and executives in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI.

Back to Home

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

