Pinay Pro: Roleth P. Fernandez

CUSTOMER SERVICE

Roleth has been in Dubai for the last 5 years starting as a Personal Assistant to the Managing Director then she was promoted as a Sales and Procurement Coordinator. This year, she was hired in Ecolab Gulf as Customer Service Executive which is under the Customer Support department.

rolethWhy did you choose this profession? I enjoy trade and business. I myself was a former owner of an online shop and have personally trained myself with shipping and logistics. I enjoy talking to people and getting to know their needs and requirement. I learn new things every day in supply chain and in building customer relationship. I appreciate the complexities of processes and the full operations. I like the planning side. And I feel great whenever I get customers satisfied with the service that I or my organization provides.

 What do you like about what you do? What do you dislike? You learn more about processes and about the people. I like how the sales team, finance and the customers are finding me reliable and dependable all the time. I am happy with the team I am working with.  I do not like the pressure. The time constraint –having so little time but so much more to do. Currently, the people I am working with are very supportive and that makes every minute count.

What do you think are the advantages of being a Customer Service Executive? Advantages will be product knowledge, though I know that I need more product training as we have more than 1000 SKUs presently. You get to be in touch with a lot of people from everywhere in the emirate. You are flexible because your job is important to the company –you are the link to the sales department as well as the finance and of course the heart of the supply chain team.

What are the qualifications or skills needed in a job like this?  What advice would you offer someone considering this career? In terms of skills, I think Filipinos are the brightest in this side of the world. We are flexible, we are easily to be trained, we can relate to whatever nationality. I think not only for this career but in any field that you would like to venture into, you have to have a lot of patience and perseverance. People can knock you down and beat you up but you have to be strong and patient. Especially for a role which requires you to be focused, to be in touch with everybody, to be smart –patience and perseverance is the key. And I also think, an open mind will help a lot.

DSC_1900

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about Proud Filipinas at Work in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI. If you have someone in mind who you think deserves space in this blog, please send an e-mail to lakwatsero2014@gmail.com or write down your comment below.

Back to Home

Leave a Reply

