Pinay Pro: Karen Bisana-Tolentino

HUMAN RESOURCE AND ADMINISTRATION

Karen Bisana-Tolentino is HR and Administration Manager at TEKAB CO. LTD. based in Dubaia. Celebrating 11 years of continued service to one company, she started working with TEKAB from 2003 as a Receptionist-cum-Telephone Operator and Secretary.

After 3 years, she was promoted to become the Executive Assistant to the Managing Director where she served for another 7 years. She has moved to a higher post as the HR and Administration Manager of the company. 

1Why did you choose this profession? My profession was not really a choice I made from the start; the opportunity came to me when I landed here in UAE. It was the best offer I had at that time, starting as a Receptionist-cum-Telephone Operator, I managed to develop my skills and progressed to a higher position. I have learned to love my job as it has given me the chance to develop my best skill of being people oriented. I believe that the success of every company relies on its people.

What do you like about what you do? What do you dislike? I like almost about everything that I do, especially when challenging situations are presented and one needs to immediately solve these problems. I am always moved to re-assess all possibilities and reach to a decision wherein all parties involved are considered and satisfied. As a Human Resource Personnel, I am tasked to become the mediator between the work force and the management.

What I do dislike however, is when firm decisions need to be taken to be able to manage individuals or situations which continuously become nuisances to the company despite having been given constant notices.

What do you think are the advantages of being an HR professional? I think the advantage of being a HR professional is that the post allows me greater experience in all areas of human resources. Benefits and compensation experience, training and development opportunities, employee relations, learning more about the soft skills, or people skills, from adult learning methodology to motivational techniques and human psychologyare just a few of them.

What are the qualifications or skills needed in a job like this? What advice would you offer someone considering this career? Given the wide range of responsibilities for which HR managers are held accountable, one needs a wide range of skills, abilities and qualifications. HR managers interact with every level within the organization, from the executive-level decision makers to department managers and production staff.

Overall, HR managers should have a combination of education, certification and experience, as well as core competencies that enable effective performance. Since being involved in both strategy and implementation, one should have good communication skills. Additional core competencies also include analytical and critical thinking skills and the ability to influence others and manage change.

The best advice that I can offer to someone considering this career is to continuously develop your skills, increase your learning, and frequently interact with the workforce as well as the upper management to be able to perform and achieve your tasks in the most efficient way.

Tekab's Iftar

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about Proud Filipinas at Work in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI. If you have someone in mind who you think deserves space in this blog, please send an e-mail to lakwatsero2014@gmail.com or write down your comment below.

Back to Home

Leave a Reply

