OFW Lessons: Kristine Tuazon on good attitude

Kristine Tuazon is Marketing and Project Manager at Caxton Group (a Praxis Global Research Group Division).

kristine 2“I have carried a smile with me always – it is never far away – even if I am having a stressful and  unproductive day. Even when people can’t see me, they can feel my smile. My smile has served me well – and I take it with me everywhere.”

  • While working abroad, you will encounter several challenges that will leave valuable lessons in life. I have learned to always wear a good attitude. Working with different nationalities is like living in a jungle, it’s really a matter of survival. Filipinos were hardworking people and one of the best character we’re admired of is our “pakikisama” that’s why most Pinoys were very in-demand around the globe.
  • Living alone means being responsible for your finances. It’s easy not to care about savings when you’re living under your parents’ roof; but when you’re living alone, and you have to pay for your flat rent and your meals, it’s a different story.
  • I don’t think I have ever valued my family as much as I do now. You truly realize their importance once you’ve spent time away from them. I always relish my chats and phone calls with my mom and dad.

 “In a foreign country, you will find out the different stereotypes of Filipinos. There were even times some Filipinos experiences discrimination, but that only strengthened my Filipino Pride. I was always proud to be a Filipino, and I always corrected any misconceptions about us. Last and not the least, I have come to realize that my OFW life gave me the strength to face my fears, embrace inevitable changes and celebrate successes for me to appreciate and understand the real purpose of my so-called journey.”

kristine 1

Did you enjoy this post? For updates about lessons learned by Overseas Filipino Workers in the United Arab Emirates, please like my Facebook page OFW in DUBAI.

Back to Home

Leave a Reply

